About PCI

PCI Announcment Container E

The Philatelic Congress of India

The Philatelic Congress of India (PCI) is the National Philatelic Federation of Philatelists and Philatelic Societies in India. It was formed in a Preparatory General Body meeting held in Calcutta (Kolkata) on 29th December 1975 during the National Philatelic Exhibition INPEX-1975. PCI was established as a National Federation in consulation and association of the Department of Post (DOP). It was agreed and as a general practice followed that philatelic activities shall be carried out by DOP in consultation with PCI. The Philatelic Advisory Committee (PAC) was formed as per the recommendation of PCI.

As a Policy decision, it was decided between DOP and PCI that to maintain the pace and development of philately, State and National Level exhibition will be held every alternate year. Continental exhibitions and International World exhibitions will be held every 5 years and every 10 years, respectively. The frequency of the exhibitions are important to generate qualifying exhibits for moving to the next higher level. Irregularity in holding such events adversely effect the growth and development of competitive philately and have a cascading effect. Considering the importance of philately in various spheres, budgetary allocation for promotion of philately was mooted and initiated by PCI. The budgetary allocation (Govt. of India Central Budget) for the purpose needs to be properly utilized.


The PCI had organized the first Asian International Philatelic Exhibition ASIANA-77 held in Bangalore (Bengaluru) under the patronage of Federation of Inter-Asian Philately (FIAP). Thereafter, the PCI has been very actively involved and associated with the Department of Posts in the organization of INDIA-80, INDIA-89, INDEPEX-97 and INDIPEX-2011, the World Philatelic Exhibitions, held in New Delhi under the patronage of Federation Internationale De Philatelie (FIP) and auspices of FIAP, and also the 14th Asian International Philatelic Exhibition INDEPEX ASIANA-2000 held in Calcutta (Kolkata) under the patronage of FIAP and with the recognition of FIP. The PCI was instrumental in bringing the gems of world philately to India in these exhibitions, including the unique One Cent British Guiana, Hawaiian Missionaries, and Post Office Mauritius stamps in INDIA-80 and for the first time 12 exceedingly rare India 1854 Four Annas Head Inverted stamps brought from all over the world were exhibited under one roof in INDEPEX-97 Court of Honours.

International laurels and contributions by Philatelists from India.
As a result of the efforts of the PCI, Indian Philatelists are able to take part in the International Philatelic Exhibitions held in different parts of the world. Indian Philatelists have secured very high awards including FIP / FIAP Grand Prix D’ Honneur, Grand Prix International, Grand Prix National and Best Exhibit awards in several International Exhibitions.

Mr. D. N. Jatia and Brig. D. S. Virk, AVSM were invited to sign the most prestigious Roll of Distinguished Philatelists (RDP) in London. Mr. D. N. Jatia, Founder President of PCI, was elected as FIAP President (1981-1987) and FIP President for two terms (1990-1998). He was the first Non-European to get this honour and he was instrumental in framing the General Regulations for the FIP World Exhibitions (GREX) and General & Special Regulations for the Evaluation of the Exhibits (GREV and SREV). The PCI members have been nominated on various Committees and Commissions of the FIP and FIAP where they have made very significant contributions. Many of our members have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Philatelic Society, London.

Several books and journals written by eminent philatelists and members have been published by PCI and have been very well received and serve as excellent reference works.

The Philatelic Congress of India and the affiliated institutional members have developed Training Programmes and Workshops on different disciplines of Philately. Efforts are underway to develop more advanced programmes, including programmes for the training of apprentice jury.

Past Presidents

D N Jatia

01.  Mr. D. N. Jatia

G B Pai

02.  Mr. G. B. Pai

PCI Announcment Container E

03.  Mr. G. C. Jain

V N S Rau

04.  Mr. V. N. S. Rau

P Gupta

05.  Mr. P. Gupta

S P Chatterjea

06.  Mr. S. P. Chatterjee

Dhirubhai Mehta

07.  Mr. Dhirubhai Mehta

PCI Announcment Container E

08.  Col. L. G. Shenoi


09.  Brig. D. S. Virk

Vispi Dastur

10.  Mr. V. S. Dastur

M G Pittie

11.  Mr. M. G. Pittie

Sahadeva Sahoo

12.  Mr. Sahadeva Sahoo

Dilip Shah

13.  Mr. Dilip Shah

Ajeet Singhee

14.  Mr. Ajeet Singhee

Damayanti Pittie LP12

15.  Mrs. Damyanti Pittie